Roots

  Recently, a coworker asked me how we were liking the area since we in moved last summer. I replied truthfully that we really liked the area and were enjoying living here. The next question took me a little by surprise, ” so do you think you will put down roots here?” That was a valid question and not at all too personal, but not one I had considered. “I’m not sure we will ever put down roots,” was my reply. My coworker nodded and understood what I meant, but after our conversation was over I thought about the question for awhile. You see my husband and I are pastors, so we go where God sends us. Staying somewhere forever or putting down roots just isn’t something I think about. I am content to stay as long as God keeps us in a place, and go where He leads.   

That got me to drawing the conclusion that my “roots” are firmly planted in God alone, He is the only place I can “put down roots.” Just like His Word tells me in Jeremiah -7:8 –  “But blessed are those who trust in the LORD and have made the LORD their hope and confidence. They are like trees planted along a riverbank, with roots that reach deep into the water. Such trees are not bothered by the heat or worried by long months of drought. Their leaves stay green, and they never stop producing fruit. (‭NLT)  He helps me learn to make a new town home for the time I am there. He alone is the greatest influence on my life. Let’s face it, a lot of who you are and why you talk, act, even eat a certain way is based on where you are from or where your roots are planted. I have a little piece of each place I have lived in me, the people I encounter and befriended have left their mark, and hopefully I have left a little with them that was good. In the end however, my roots are planted in God. He is my home.

To some it may seem scary to move around so much or to be open to move at anytime when God asks, but to me it’s peace. 2 Corinthians 3:17 says where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is Freedom, and Jeremiah 29:11 tells me that My Heavenly Father knows the plans He has for me and they are good plans. What else do I need? I have freedom knowing that my God has supplied all my needs before I even know those needs and His plans for me are for good to give me a hope and a bright future. 

So no matter where your physical roots are planted, be sure your real roots are planted in God alone. He is the best home!

Leave a Reply

